

WARRIORS' DAY PARADE COUNCIL

1921–2019 ... 98 years ... and still marching www.thewarriorsdayparade.ca



Honorary Patron The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, OC, OOnt Lieutenant Governor of Ontario Honorary Chairman Mr. Knox Henry

February 15th, 2019

To: ALL PARTICIPANTS OF THE WARRIORS' DAY PARADE

Re: 98th Anniversary Warriors' Day Parade, Saturday, August 17, 2019

The Warriors' Day Parade is pleased to continue the tradition started after World War I of honouring our Veterans in celebration of various events. This year we commemorate "The 75th Anniversary of the D-Day Invasion and 76th Anniversary of the beginning of the Italian Campaign."

We honour all the volunteers, including Veterans, members of Canada's Armed Forces and citizens who have made this event possible year after year.

Our Reviewing Officer will be Brigadier-General B.W.G. McPherson, CD

Enclosed please find the following information regarding this year's Parade:

- (a) 2019 Parade Order [four pages],
- (b) Application for Family Tickets [two pages],
- (c) An attractive Poster with general Parade details, and
- (e) Registration form.

We look forward to **Saturday**, **17 August 2019** and our 98th *Warriors' Day Parade*, the longest continuous Parade of its type, which will once again remind Canadians of the importance of the personal sacrifices made by members of the Canadian Armed Forces in protecting the freedoms we all enjoy.

This year's parade will again relive many of our past parades with the reviewing stand located on Princes' Boulevard, directly in front of Enercare Centre.

President MWO Mark Stephens, CD

Immediate Past President LCol John Burns, CD

Past Presidents

Cpl William Gordon LCol Jack Lee, CD Maj Donald Duthie, SBStJ, CD Capt Mort Lightstone, CD

Vice-President Operations Maj Sandra Bullock, CD

Vice-President Administration Mr. Glenn Mills

General Secretary Ms. Marjorie Harding

Treasurer Capt Carlo Jeffery, CD

Directors

Tpr Bruce Hampson Mr. John Hymers HSgt Faye MacLachan 2Lt Michael Perreault, CD

Members of Council

CWO Brian Budden, CD Maj Hal Buller, CD, CPO Mr. David Burns Lt(N). Wayne Closs Mrs. Sarah Rose Duthie Cpl Harry Hodgson, CD Mrs. Joanne Jeffery P01 Alis Kennedy, OOnt, CD, OMC, PhD Capt Rose McGuire, CD Mr. Gord Mills LCol Alex Moseanu, SBStJ, CD, AdeC Mrs. Evelyn Pelletier Supt Marty Sawdon Sgt Robert Thomas Capt Arjeh van der Sluis, SBStJ, CD,BSc Mrs. Betty Walker

Life Members

Capt Stewart Kellock, MOM, OStJ, CD MWO George MacLean, CD CWO John Speirs, MMM, CD We are delighted to advise that GO Transit, including UP Express plus other transit facilities have once again approved a blanket offer of free transit trips to Veterans, plus one companion, or immediate families of deceased veterans, on Warriors' Day and Remembrance Day. Other transit companies have also signed on to this program again for 2019.

For a complete list please check our website at <u>www.thewarriorsdayparade.ca</u> for updates from transit providers within the GTA.

This is the 141st year of the Canadian National Exhibition and we wish to acknowledge our integral relationship with the CNE Staff and Board.

The *Warriors' Day Parade Council* looks forward to your participation in this year's Parade on **Saturday, 17 August 2019.** It is the intention of the *Warriors' Day Parade Council* to continue to hold this annual Parade so long as there are participants and support.

See you on August 17th.

Mark Stephens, MWO (Ret'd), CD President Warriors' Day Parade Council